DF Research Award Program Receives $1 Million Grant From Bristol Myers Squibb

Acute psoriasis on the elbows is an autoimmune incurable dermatological skin disease. Large red, inflamed, flaky rash on the knees. Joints affected by psoriatic arthritis
Acute psoriasis on the elbows is an autoimmune incurable dermatological skin disease. Large red, inflamed, flaky rash on the knees. Joints affected by psoriatic arthritis

The Dermatology Foundation has received a $1 million grant from Bristol Myers Squibb for research in psoriasis, a common autoimmune disorder that affects some 7.5 million people in the United States, and more than 100 million globally, according to the World Health Organization.

The newly designated Bristol Myers Squibb Psoriasis Research Award will provide funding to three extraordinary mid-career investigators; all of whom have an established trajectory of excellence in basic, clinical, or translational research that furthers the understanding and treatment of psoriasis. The grant will provide three investigators $100,000 of annual funding, over a period of three years.

Dan Quirk, MD, Vice President, US Medical – Immunology & Fibrosis at Bristol Myers Squibb, is of the view the Foundation and BMS have a common perspective. “Bristol Myers Squibb recognizes that psoriasis substantially impacts patients’ quality of life and is associated with multiple, serious comorbidities. We are pleased to invest in talented investigators that will advance research with the goal of elevating care for the millions of individuals suffering from this chronic, immune-mediated disease.”

One of the past recipients of a DF mid-career research award, Tiffany C. Scharschmidt, MD, Associate Professor, UCSF Department of Dermatology, appreciates the benefits of financial support in mid-career. “The impact of DF funding is profound. As a physician-scientist, I can say that not every specialty has this. It’s a real boon to dermatology to be able to provide our pipeline of physician-scientists with the support that allows them to keep making the choice to deepen our knowledge of skin disease.”

Mid-career has been identified as a critical transition period for biomedical researchers. Awards such as this have been shown to retain outstanding people in basic, translational and clinical research and enable them to successfully compete for future research dollars. The BMS award will strengthen the pipeline of psoriasis researchers.

DF President Janet A. Fairley, MD knows the Foundation’s research awards make it possible to address this need and reduce the growing gap in mid-career research dollars. “I am grateful to Bristol Myers Squibb for their generous contribution. The Bristol Myers Squibb Psoriasis Research Award will enable three mid-career investigators to pursue high-impact projects that will advance aspects of dermatology related to psoriasis.”

­­About DF Research Awards
For nearly sixty years, the Dermatology Foundation has been a major force in the development of the specialty’s scientific base. To date, the DF has awarded nearly 2,500 research awards to enable advancements in patient care by providing $83M in funding for discovery to talented investigators. The Foundation has a proven record of funding novel ideas and individuals who are dedicated to expanding the understanding of dermatologic conditions and diseases.

­­About the Dermatology Foundation
Founded in 1964, the Dermatology Foundation is a 501(c)(3) organization and the leading private funding source for skin disease research in America.

More information to come . . .

Categories: News / Press Releases


Related Articles

$1 Million for Health Equity

The Dermatology Foundation and the Skin of Color Society have partnered together to create and deliver a prominent and impactful…

Read More

First BMS Psoriasis Research Award Recipient Named

Congratulations to Junko Takeshita, MD, PhD, for receipt of the 2023 Psoriasis Research Award — the first of three awards…

Read More

Celebrate the 2023 Honorary Award Recipients

At this year’s Annual Meeting of Membership, we will recognize 4 distinguished individuals who have been nominated by their colleagues…

Read More