Press Releases

May, 2005

Dermatology Foundation Elects 2005 Officers and Board of Trustees

The Dermatology Foundation, shaping the future of dermatology, elected its 2005 leadership and announced the allocation of over $3.5 million through its Research Awards Program at its Annual Meeting of Membership held Saturday, February 19, 2005, in New Orleans, LA.

Officers elected by the Board of Trustees include:

  • Bruce U. Wintroub, M.D. President
  • Jouni J. Uitto, M.D., Ph.D. Chairman, Board of Trustees
  • Richard L. Edelson, M.D. Vice President
  • Michael D. Tharp, M.D. Secretary - Treasurer
  • Neil A. Swanson, M.D. Assistant Secretary - Treasurer

Elected as members of the Board of Trustees were:

Dermatologic Trustees: Cheryl D. Ackerman, M.D ; Rex A. Amonette, M.D.; Jag Bhawan, M.D.; Jean L. Bologna, M.D.; Lynn A. Cornelius, M.D.; Richard L. Edelson, M.D.; Lisa A. Garner, M.D.; Anita C. Gilliam, M.D., Ph.D.; Timothy M. Johnson, M.D.; Gerald G. Krueger, M.D.; James J. Leyden, M.D.; Henry W. Lim, M.D.; Seth L. Matarasso, M.D.; Marcy Neuburg, M.D.; Glenn A. Oclassen; William S. Sawchuk, M.D.; Richard K. Scher, M.D.; Steven K. Shama, M.D., M.P.H.; Neil A. Swanson, M.D.; Michael D. Tharp, M.D.; Jouni Uitto, M.D., Ph.D.; John J. Voorhees, M.D.; Susan Holloway Weinkle, M.D.; and Bruce U. Wintroub, M.D.

Trustees at Large: Tina S. Alster, M.D.; Hilary E. Baldwin, M.D.; Rodney S. W. Basler, M.D.; Diane S. Berson, M.D.; Marc D. Brown, M.D.; Ronald R. Brancaccio, M.D.; Roger I. Ceilley, M.D.; Gary A. Dyer, M.D.; Lawrence F. Eichenfield, M.D.; James O. Ertle, M.D.; Scott W. Fosko, M.D.; Ilona J. Frieden, M.D.; Victoria L. Holloway, M.D.; Sewon Kang, M.D.; David J. Leffell, M.D.; Stuart R. Lessin, M.D.; Albert J. Nemeth, M.D.; Peter B. Odland, M.D.; Elise Olsen, M.D.; Steven K. Tyring, M.D., Ph.D.; and Patricia S. Walker, M.D., Ph.D.

The Dermatology Foundation, a non-profit organization, has been supporting the future of dermatology since 1964 when a group of concerned dermatologists founded it to support the career-development aspirations of the next generation of researchers and educators throughout dermatology. It is second only to the federal government as a source of funding for those pursuing careers in research and teaching and raises contributions from members of the specialty and the cosmetic, pharmaceutical and surgical industries. For a complete view of the Dermatology Foundation's activities, programs and publications, please visit its website at

Return to Press Releases2005_05_31_1
Printer Friendly Page